Walking Through The Word

Home » Ephesians » Our Circumstances Are For The Benefit Of Others

Our Circumstances Are For The Benefit Of Others

Watch The Jesus Film In Your Language

Some Great Causes

Books of the Bible

Tweets

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 377 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 39,173 hits

Visitors (Since 6/1/2014)

Flag Counter

Reciprocal Links



Web Analytics Clicky


For this reason I, Paul, a prisoner for Christ Jesus on behalf of you Gentiles— assuming that you have heard of the stewardship of God’s grace that was given to me for you, how the mystery was made known to me by revelation, as I have written briefly.
(Ephesians 3:1-3 ESV)


When Paul wrote this letter to the Ephesians he was in a Roman prison awaiting a trial that would determine whether he would continue to live or would be put to death. Just like today, justice moved slowly back then and Paul waited two years for that trial.

But during this time Paul did not see himself to be a prisoner of the Romans (who would try him) or the Jews (who had him arrested). He saw himself as “a prisoner for Christ Jesus”. In other words, he was in prison because that is where God wanted him at this particular time.

Paul was certainly busy for God after being converted from a Christian-killer to a devoted Jesus follower on the Damascus Road [Acts 9:1-31]. He travelled all around the eastern Mediterranean teaching people the good news of how they could have their sins forgiven through Jesus and thus spend eternity in heaven after they die. Along the way he started several churches that became the roots of Christianity in Asia Minor and Europe.

One of Paul’s personal dreams was to do the same in Rome, the center of the powerful, and often evil, Roman Empire. Paul eventually did make it to Rome, but not in the way he had envisioned. Rather than go there freely he was arrested and sent there in chains.

Yet Paul did not perceive this to be the doing of the Jews or the Romans. He understood that he was going to Rome as a captive because that is how God needed him to go. It was from prison that Paul wrote this letter as well as the letters to the Philippians, the Colossians, and Philemon that now appear in our Bibles. If Paul had not been a prisoner for two years it is possible these letters never get written. His incarceration was “on behalf of” (for the benefit of) those to whom he wrote.

Often in the midst of our circumstances we do not see the bigger picture. But God does. God needed these letters written to that they would teach people for generations as part of the Bible. He had a purpose for Paul being in prison.

If anyone is a child of God through faith in Jesus Christ [John 1:12] then they are right where God wants them to be in life. Maybe you are in prison right now. God can use you to teach the people you come in contact with about Him. Maybe you are in a job that you don’t like. God can use you to spread His message to your coworkers. Maybe you’re disabled and don’t get out much. God can use you to reach people on the Internet. No matter where a believer is in life, he/she is there for Christ and on behalf of other people.

Sometimes our situation, from a human perspective, is not pleasant. But when we consider that we can serve God by sharing His message of forgiveness to those around us, we understand why we are there.

Comments? Questions? I’d love to hear from you. Please feel free to contact me about this post.

FacebookTwitterLinkedInGoogle+

5 Comments

  1. homwardbound says:

    Just bloom wherever we are planted, good insight about the writings, that was part of the purpose and a big one to get out the letters to

  2. Hi KSean,

    This article was extremely powerful for me as I read through. Thank You. A sentence you wrote really touched my heart:

    “Maybe you’re disabled and don’t get out much. God can use you to reach people on the Internet.”

    I’m home on disability extremely weak and the only thing I can do without exhausting myself to near collapse is write for The Lord revelations to help others come to know the love of Jesus Christ and the Power of The Holy Spirit…which is an amazing gift that comes with their salvation. Over the past month I have been disabled, I have furthered the message of Everlasting Joy on my website to others through encouraging them to take the steps of faith that are required to receive the gift of Everlasting Joy in their lives.

    I’m truly uplifted and strengthened by this message and now am fully aware that I’m disabled for Christ! Amen!

    Kelly Anya

    • KSean says:

      Kelly,

      Thank you for these comments. I just write whatever I feel lead to write, having no idea who might read my words and how it will affect them. There are some days when I just type as the Holy Spirit is putting words into my head. I’m glad to hear that today’s entry encouraged you. Your encouragement, in turn, encourages me. Its amazing how God has designed the world to work like that, isn’t it?

    • homwardbound says:

      Amen Kelly, and that is the same for me know going on two years of disablement, yet the word can’t ever be disabled

  3. Yes KSean, the way life is cyclic is truly an amazing gift from The Father. I’m glad your encouragement brought you back encouragement! 🙂

    homwardbound, I pray for a supernatural move by The Holy Spirit that will expand your sphere of influence, leading to more lives being touched by your in-home ministry. I don’t know about you homwardbound, but I have discovered just how joyful I could be in life through working on my internet ministry. I hope one day to be able to quit my day job. My career (if you knew what it was, you possibly wouldn’t see why I’m complaining but there are a lot of problems under the surface) has been making me physically ill to the point my body won’t allow me to do anything without extreme exhaustion! So all I can do is write in my office for The Lord and study and pray while I wait for doctor’s appointments and test results. I’ve found that I’m in perfect peace while working for The Lord. I’m praying God begins to open doors for my ministry to support a career change.

    Blessings to you both in Christ!

    Kelly Anya

Leave a Reply

